Wyrmspan

Wingspan was one of our favorite games when it came out in 2019. In fact, if I ever re-visit the Fleur de Lis awards from 2019, I would probably move Wingspan up in place of Reavers of Midgard, because I have definitely played more of Wingspan since then. Throw in a great conversation with Elizabeth Hargrave on Gumbo Live! (back before we upgraded from pretty low res cameras!), a bunch of interesting expansions so far, and my wife and I were hooked for a while:

As good as Wingspan has been, and as gorgeous as the artwork and production turned out to be, I was fairly ambivalent about the theme. It is certainly nothing against birds. I’ve enjoyed flipping through the Audubon drawings of Birds of America as much as the next museum goer. But, I cannot say that I was ever excited about the theme.

And then, in a surprise announcement, Stonemaier Games teased information about a brand new game based on the Wingspan engine called Wyrmspan. Dragons? Dragons! Now that’s more my style. Plus, I am lucky enough here in gumbo land to have a bunch of guys in our play group that can usually be counted on to pick up the latest Stonemaier hotness, and Wyrmspan was no exception.

Here is some of the content we have produced so far about Wyrmspan, including a fascinating chat with one of the all time greatest guests on Gumbo Live, the designer, Connie Vogelmann. As we post more, I will try to update this blog post with the latest content.

First up is the playthrough. Jeremy came over right after purchasing the game, and taught it to us on stream on one of our Twitch Tuesday game nights. That was a very satisfying first play. I really dug the new elements in the game, especially the dragon guilds and the way players get resources.

Finally, Steve and I were lucky enough to chat with designer, Connie Vogelmann, on a recent Gumbo Live! On episode 146, we had the thrill of chatting about the new release, about the development of the game, what it is like to “touch up” a game that’s already sold millions, and take questions from the chat krewe!

I am curious to know if you have played Wyrmspan, too, and how you feel it compares to its original big sister.

Laissez les bon temps rouler!

** photos courtesy of Jeremy Dobler **

Get your Board Game Gumbo merch here:

Gumbo Merch!

Board Game Gumbo plays your games every TUESDAY on TWITCH! twitch.tv/boardgamegumbo @boardgamegumbo on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Twitch, Bluesky, and Instagram

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑